First world problems.

I don’t know if it’s taboo to admit to your insecurities in your own blog. In fact, talking about myself has been something I’ve tried to avoid this whole time; though, you could argue that my reviews and recaps are somewhat narcissistic. Isn’t narcissism really what publishing your own blog is all about? So let’s embrace it.

I haven’t written in a while because, frankly, I haven’t been too satisfied with my output. So I’ve been seeking comfort elsewhere. Pop music, for one, has been keeping me relatively sane. I can’t tell you how many times Clear Channel radio has given me goosebumps over the past two months. How can you not like this music? Or this. OR THIS!!! To be honest, I get the same thing out of listening to the latest Gaga single that I do when I hear a killer Mastodon track. Call me crazy.

…but I digress.

My hiatus was also brought on by an extended week (10 days) in Texas. There’s something about Fort Worth that kills any and all inspiration — for me at least. With the way these past three years have panned out, I feel like I caught a glimpse into my future in the Metroplex, filling afternoons and evenings with  processed meat, whiskey, beer, and sorrows. But hey, at least I’ll have steady work at the Circuit City. Right? I shouldn’t knock it. It’s not like my return to San Francisco has proven lucrative. *cough*Anyone know of any real jobs out there?*cough*

If you can make any sense of this disjointed mess, you can gather that I’m sorting through some 2010 confusion. On paper I’ve got a lot going for me this decade. I applied to grad school, but part of me sees it as giving up on my dreams of success in the music business (is there such a thing?). The silver lining is that, for me, giving up is applying to grad school, and if that’s as bad as it can get, well, I can’t wait to see how it is when the getting is good.

For now, I’m going to mourn the loss of a feline friend and hug my cat.

I promise quality posts very soon.

Leave a Reply

